CPPS Program Leaders

Dr. Michael J. Wargovich
Michael J. Wargovich,
Ph.D., F.A.C.N.

Michael J. Wargovich, Ph.D., F.A.C.N. is a professor in the Department of Molecular Medicine, co-leads the Cancer Prevention and Population Science Program for the NCI-designated Cancer Therapy and Research Center, and holds the CTRC Council Distinguished Chair in Oncology.

Research in his laboratory focuses on the prevention of colon cancer. Chemoprevention of colon cancer is an area of research that explores the use of natural and synthetic agents that inhibit the development of cancer. Many of these studies also intersect with the field of cancer complementary and alternative medicine, an area that is vastly under-researched.

Dr. Wargovich is an international expert in colon cancer, cancer chemoprevention and botanical medicine related to cancer.

Dr. Wargovich's Contact Information
CTRC Council Distinguished Chair in Oncology
Phone: 210-567-8230
Email: wargovich@uthscsa.edu


Dr. A. Pratap Kumar
A. Pratap Kumar, Ph.D.

A. Pratap Kumar, Ph.D. is a Professor in the Department of Urology in the School of Medicine. He is also Research Health Scientist at the South Texas Veterans Health Care System and co-program leader for Cancer Prevention and Population Sciences of CTRC.His research interests include translating molecularly targeted laboratory-based discoveries to the clinic and back using natural products for management of genitourinary and gastrointestinal malignancies. One of the discoveries from his laboratory is currently being tested in prostate cancer patients in San Antonio.

Dr. Kumar's Contact Information
Office: Room 233.5, South Texas Research Facility
Phone: 210-562-4116
Email: kumara3@uthscsa.edu